What do you need to start learning programming?

What do you need to start learning programming?

At the very beginning, it’s basically nothing, because you can simply start by reading the blog posts and following my profile on Instagram 👀

But later, you’ll definitely need a laptop or a computer connected to the internet. And that’s it! 🌚

But let’s get to the point…

The internet is full of knowledge, tools, and tips. Programming is trendy, so there are plenty of free courses, videos, articles, and educators (🤫) everywhere. It’s probably one of those industries that’s least susceptible to gatekeeping (keeping something to oneself to prevent it from becoming popular), because the more people join, the more resources will be created.

That’s why in the coming weeks/months, I’ll encourage you to try your hand at coding, because you have so little to lose and so much to gain, as I mentioned in my previous post, and will be mentioning again in the future.

Just a computer, and that’s it? What kind of computer?

To start with, any computer will do! It doesn’t have to be a super powerful machine costing thousands of dollars. Unless it’s an ancient, barely functioning computer, it will definitely be sufficient for a good start 😇

The basics of programming and the first simple languages you’ll use don’t require much. The real challenges come later when you start dealing with more complex libraries (don’t panic, you’ll learn what that means!)

Don’t let the lack of the latest MacBook be the reason you don’t even try programming ☝🏼 (imagine this finger waving in front of your face)

But there’s probably something else that will make all of this easier for me, right?

Of course, and that’s where I come in 😉

Because one of the most useful gadgets in learning to code is a good mentor who will provide tips, help prepare a roadmap, and answer the ever-present new questions. They’ll take you by the hand and guide you through the treasure trove of 7284993 free courses 💆🏻‍♀️

Don’t worry, I’m not so full of myself to convince you that I’m an amazing mentor who knows it all and that you should only learn from me or not at all 😌

I’m not a mentor; I haven’t been in the programming field long enough to offer golden advice.

However, I do operate in this sphere—I’ve passed through those magical doors and have some good idea of what's what 🗺️

It’s such an exciting journey that I’d love to see more women get involved (especially other mums!). And so that it’s not just some other newbie talking about coding, in my next post, I’ll introduce myself more thoroughly and share what I do for work 🤓

Now, if I’ve convinced you that you don’t need much to start learning programming, grab your computer, follow my Instagram profile (@mumwantstocode), and until next time! 🤙🏼